Posted in Uncategorized

A Cure for Wellness

My birthday was on June 29. But apparently, I was born again June 30th when visiting a hardcore Christian neighbor that day. This isn’t the first time and never will be the last. I let him pray for me because I know praying for someone is really kind and from the heart, but I also knew he was trying to convert me. Time and time again. Not just then. But he always has. He constantly speaks about Jesus. I’m there to listen. But the intent behind it just bugs me. Ever since he knew I had Tourette’s (which is the first time he met me) he does nothing but try to convert me. It’s sad really. To the eyes of the couple across the street from me, I have an illnesss, an ailment, a flaw that needs to be healed, that needs to be cured. . But you don’t see them trying to go heal the blind, or the deaf, or the amputated. Or maybe they do? I just think that’s silly. 

Why would they think Tourette’s is the same? Believe me I believe that my Tourette’s might get better over time, but through SCIENCE, hence the brain surgery. But a person with Tourette’s will always have Tourette’s no matter how improved their tics become.

Think about this for a moment, if I follow Jesus Christ JUST because I want to be healed is it really genuinely following him? Would I be following him wholeheartedly? Or is just for the possible results? If I follow a religion I’d rather do it because I WANT to and believe in him just because.

After praying for me he asked how I felt. I was the same. My normal twitchy self. 

The thing that boggles my mind is that I may move a lot and shout a lot, but I’m perfectly healthy. Are they curing my well being? Because I am perfectly fine. 

Author:

Nothing ordinary

Leave a Reply

